Remove state filters
Global Menu
Main Menu

NDS launches inaugural National Disability Awards

Blue background with white text says National Disablity Awards, and in green text it says 2023. A graphic of a green star and an outline of a person in white are on the right.


Nominations are open for NDS’s exciting new initiative, the National Disability Awards. Aligned to NDS’s strategic plan, the awards aim to recognise and promote the outstanding contributions of individuals, groups and organisations who are working to create an inclusive Australia where people with disability are valued, respected and can contribute equally to the community.

Nominations in eight categories are open until 31 July, with the winners announced at our CEOs’ Meeting in December.  

Announcing the inaugural awards, NDS CEO Laurie Leigh said, “The awards will contribute to sector development through recognising and profiling contemporary, evidence-based services and supports; in particular, individualised and person-centred practice committed to quality and safeguarding. 

“Importantly, they will also give us an opportunity to showcase the disability services sector to the wider community, to demonstrate the difference that people working in this sector make to the lives of people with disability, and to promote the sector as a place for a rewarding and successful career.” 

We invite disability service providers, people with disability and their families to nominate outstanding staff, teams and organisations who demonstrate excellence, passion, vision and commitment to supporting people with disability.

The eight award categories are: 

  • Excellence in Service Quality  
  • Excellence in Innovation 
  • Excellence in Disability Support Work 
  • Excellence in Allied Health 
  • Excellence in Regional and Remote Support 
  • Outstanding Leader of the Year
  • Inclusive Communities Award 
  • Media Award
Further information, including the nomination guide and nomination form, can be found on the NDS website. The nomination guide has everything you need to know about the award categories, criteria and conditions of entry.  

Nominations close at 5:00pm AEST on 31 July 2023. 

Winners will be announced at the Award Ceremony in Melbourne on 11 December as part of NDS’s annual CEOs’ Meeting. 

Thank you to our category sponsors: NDIA, NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission and HESTA. 

Sponsorship Opportunities 

If you wish to sponsor an award or support the National Disability Awards, please contact us: submit enquiry/feedback 

Contact information

For any enquiries, please contact Conference and Events Team, submit enquiry/feedback, show phone number